Policies and Procedures
St. Richard's Episcopal Preschool is considered a parish school to St. Richard's Episcopal Church of Round Rock. The school is under the jurisdiction of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas. The school is incorporated under the Texas Non-Profit Incorporation Act, and we operate by permission of St. Richard’s Episcopal Church Vestry. The Head of School runs daily operations and the Board of Directors set policies and fees.
Safeguarding God's Children
The Episcopal Diocese of Texas has mandated that all persons who are involved with the care or teaching of children in the church or school complete a training regarding sexual abuse of children using the program Safeguarding God’s Children. This includes paid staff and volunteers alike. The school using an approved trainer from the Diocese will provide the training; there is a fee of $10 for a background check required by the Diocese. Parents wishing to volunteer on a regular basis must have a documented certificate on file with the school and the Diocese. The training certificate is current for 5 years. Please contact the school office for additional information.
Little children often get sick. You should keep your child at home throughout the duration of the illness so as to expedite the healing process and avoid getting the other children sick. When your child is ready to return to school, we would appreciate a note from their doctor indicating that they are free from contagions.
Note New Illness Policy During COVID-19
If Someone Gets Sick or Displays Symptoms:
If a child or teacher has a fever of 100.0 during school hours they will be isolated from the group a parent will be called and they will go home immediately, and return after they are 72 hours symptom free with a doctor's note.
If a child or teacher tests positive for Covid-19, those in close contact with the child (the teacher/aide and classmates) should self quarantine for 14 days, and school will follow the guidelines of our local health department.
If a member of a child or teacher’s household has suspected they have been exposed to COVID-19 or tests positive for COVID-19, the child will self quarantine for 14 days and has to be symptom free for 10 days before returning to school. As per the CDC guidelines, Even if you test negative for COVID-19 or feel healthy, you should stay home (quarantine) since symptoms may appear 2 to 14 days after exposure to the virus.
**The CDC defines close contact for COVID-19 as any individual who was within 6 feet of an infected person for at least 15 minutes starting from 2 days before illness onset (or, for asymptomatic patients, 2 days prior to positive specimen collection) until the time the patient is isolated.
When it is safe to come back to school:
Staff and Students who have a lab confirmed positive COVID-19 test will be able to come back to school when ALL THREE of the following conditions have been met:
Three days or 72 hours have passed since the recovery with no fever reducing medications, improvement in symptoms; AND
Ten days have passed since symptoms first appeared; AND
Have a negative test.